Wind Octet, Opus 103

🎼🎶 Wednesday, March 3, 2021

Despite its high Opus number (103), the Wind Octet in E-flat Major was composed in 1792 when Beethoven was still in service to the Elector in Bonn. 

The Elector, Maximilian Franz, was a great lover of “Tafelmusik” – background music to be played at dinner – and maintained an excellent wind band. After arriving in Vienna, Beethoven revised the piece as a string quintet, published in 1796 as Opus 4. It’s a most enjoyable piece, featuring some furious virtuoso writing for the horns, especially in the fourth movement. This performance is from the University of Michigan Symphony Band, conducted by Michael Haithcock.

Preview YouTube video UMich Symphony Band - Ludwig van Beethoven - Octet in E-flat Major, op. 103 (1793)


  • John Scialdone
    published this page in Daily Beethoven 2021-03-03 11:10:38 -0500

DONATE Join the Chorus! Contact

get updates